StKFF_515_jimleepix (Large)

27 . 05 . 2012


2012 Winners Announced

Transmission was announced as the winner of ‘Best Short Film’ at the 2012 St Kilda Film Festival (SKFF) Closing Night Awards, presented by the City of Port Phillip at the St Kilda Town Hall on Sunday 27 May.

City of Port Phillip Mayor Cr Rachel Powning presented Director Zak Hilditch and Producer Liz Kearney with a $10,000 cash cheque with a total of 17 winners taking home their share of the $40,000 cash and in-kind total prize pool.

Zac Hilditch was also awarded Best Director for the film, while Angourie Rice won Best Actor for her role. The Best Achievement in Editing Award also went to Transmission presented to Merlin Cornish.

Now in its 29th year and renowned as the premiere short film festival in Australia, SKFF screened a dynamic mix of Australia’s Top 100 short films in competition across 15 world-class screenings at the Palais and Astor Theatres.

Into the Sun Directed by Amy Gebhardt and Produced by Allison Lockwood took out the ‘Craft Award’ while Ten Quintillion Directed by Romilly Spiers and Produced by Spiers and Daniel Gregg received a commendation for the category.

Melbourne duo Summer DeRoche (Director) and Andrea Distefano (Producer) were awarded with Best Documentary for The Globe Collector, the story of one man’s all consuming passion for light globes and his quest to protect a part of our technological history.

2012 St Kilda Film Festival Award WINNERS

Best Short Film

Transmission – Dir. Zak Hilditch / Prod. Liz Kearney

Craft Award

Winner: Into the Sun – Dir. Amy Gebhardt / Prod. Allison Lockwood

Commendation: Ten Quintillion – Dir. Romilly Spiers / Prod. Romilly Spiers, Daniel Gregg

Best Director

Transmission – Dir. Zak Hilditch

Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking

Yapawarnti Palu Rijikarrijani – Dir. Kai Raisbeck / Prod. Kai Raisbeck

Best Documentary

The Globe Collector – Dir. Summer DeRoche / Prod. Andrea Distefano

Best Animation

The Missing Key – Dir. Jonathan Nix /Prod. Garth Nix

Best Comedy

Boo! – Dir. Rupert Reid / Prod. Matthew Reeder

Best Actor

Angourie Rice – Transmission

Best Achievement in Screenplay

After the Credits – Josh Lawson

Best Achievement in Cinematography

Paper Planes – Nick Matthews ACS

Best Achievement in Editing

Transmission – Merlin Cornish

Best Achievement in Visual Effects

Light as a Feather – David McDonnell

Best Achievement in Production Design

Cryo – Karen Murphy

Best Original Score

The Missing Key – Miles Nicholas, Jonathan Nix, Kathryn Brownhill

Best Achievement in Sound Post Production

Nullarbor – Matt Bauer

Under the Radar – Best Youth Short Film

The Trouble with Alexander – Directed and Produced by Blake Borcich

SBS Award Winner

THE WILDING, directed by Grant Scicluna and produced by Jannine Barnes.


Paul Harris, Festival Director said, “Audiences, starved for a spark of originality, enjoy short movies which are innovative, economic and highly entertaining.

“This year’s exciting field of entries ticks all these boxes,” he said.

The St Kilda Film Festival is produced and presented by the City of Port Phillip. For further information please visit


Instagram Update